A Dolphin's sovereign right

A Dolphin's sovereign right
Brad's life quest - episode 41,218. Brad discovers what he always knew.


I really didn't need any scientific proof, but it's nice to have it. When I was a tiny little kid, my Nan took me to Sea World, which had just opened on the Gold Coast. There I saw performing dolphins, and learned that they could communicate with each other. In fact, I learned that they were possibly more intelligent than man, but displayed their intelligence in other ways. I think this was all just Sea World hype. I believe dolphins to be the 3rd most intelligent species on the planet, next to humans and apes. One could argue about the apes.

If dolphins can call each other by name, then they are easily capable of the complex structure required to form a society. They do not communicate well with humans, and so we don't understand their intricate social lives.

Any species capable of developing a complex society should not be hunted by man. They have earned the right to live in peace, alongside us, recognised for their abilities, and most importantly, their sovereignty.

I would never, ever see another dolphin show, for I have learned they can't stand captivity. Most captive dolphins die within six months of being taken from the wild at Taiji, Japan. I wouldn't even watch trained wild dolphins. I do want to take a boat ride out to where the dolphins play off Westernport Bay here - I used to see them playing when I was at sea, and I miss them.



comments powered by Disqus
comments powered by Disqus